Order in the Chaos

Life can be messy. I think just about every person has realized or experienced this at some point. Life can throw you curve balls that don’t seem to make sense at the time and make you question if you are on the path you are supposed to be on. I know I’ve experienced this multiple times.

My recent trip to Stonehenge got me thinking about this seemingly random disorder that we see in the world. Like Stonhenge, we don’t understand what is happening or why. We can spend hours, days, years even wondering and questioning without getting an answer. It is during these times that I have to remind myself that I didn’t make any of this happen, it’s a part of a plan much bigger and greater than me. I’m a faithful person and I believe that God makes disorder happen to create order out of the chaos of life. I know, I know: what? How does this make sense?

Well, take Stonehenge for example. All we truly know about it is what we see on the outside: aka the stones. It doesn’t make sense to us why they are there, how they got there, or why a group of people would choose the middle of nowhere in England to set them up. We don’t understand based on where we are at in history. But the people who constructed the stones did know and understand exactly what, why, when, where and how. Think about it: I have a hard time believing that without a good reason, a group of people would go through the challenge of setting those stones up where they did, without a water source to be seen and in the way they did without knowing what they were doing. They saw order in what they did.

In the same way, God creates order in our lives in those times that seem most confusing and least understood. When I realized that He would not bring me to do something I wasn’t capable of getting through, I had a lot of peace and found that I could work through any challenge. God knows exactly what is going on and why, which is good because I often don’t. My human-ness prevents me from seeing and comprehending the various aspects of life and what it all means. But God is in control of my life and works with the decisions I make every day to guide me down the right path. Without that guidance, without Him, I am lost. Is it still difficult to remember this? Absolutely. Every day I have to remind myself that I must have faith that He will take care of me and provide me the strength I need for that day, for that situation. Only then will I be able to piece together and see the order in the chaos of my own life.

I hope you can see the same happen in your own life.

Sincerely yours,

Jess

Photo challenge: Order


4 thoughts on “Order in the Chaos

Leave a comment