Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprises come in the Unexpected Moments

IMG_20170409_131546_497It has been 4 years since I was in India. I’ve been missing the culture quite a bit and thinking about that trip. While in Kansas City, to my surprise, there was an event called “Passport to India” that I discovered was going on at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. Naturally it was going to be held on a day I was in the city. One thing I love is exploring places, even if I do so alone.

Don’t get me wrong, I love to travel and have experiences with other people. However, there is something to be said about finding yourself in the moments and adventures you take on your own. There is an excitement that comes from not knowing who you will meet or what type of experience you will have. This is one of the major reasons why I love and have been known to go to events such as the “Passport to India” on my own.

I had no expectations about what I would see or do while at the event. In that sense, everything that happened was a delightful surprise. I met some amazing people with great stories. I was able to share my personal experiences with the Indian culture and bond over a mutual respect of this culture with others in attendance. I met some people that I will stay in contact with after the stimulating conversations we had there. Traveling and experiencing other cultures opens up a whole world of stories to share that help all those who listen further develop and cultivate their own world-views.

One of my favorite surprises of the day was being able to try on a sari, pictured above. While in India, I was unable to try one on. So I was pleasantly surprise and excited when I discovered I was going to be able to here. This whole day was a great reminder that surprises can come in the smallest ways but can leave a lasting impression that can change your life.

I encourage you to explore on your own. You never know who you will meet, what type of experience you will have, and what surprises will come your way. They may just help you find out more about yourself- something that will always lead you closer to who you were made to be.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise

Sincerely yours,

Jess

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprises come in the Unexpected Moments

Leave a Reply

