Harry Potter Bucket List

“You’re a wizard Harry.”

My love of Harry Potter cannot be overstated. Ever since my mom read me the first one before I could read them for myself, I have been a Potter-head. In many ways, Harry Potter was my childhood as I grew up with the books. I remember going to midnight premiers of the movies and parties for when the books came out. Distinctly I recall staying up all night after getting a new book at midnight and finishing it by the morning. Still to this day, when I meet people there is an extra bond formed when I find out they like Harry Potter. Even more so, I love the “Gryffindor vs Hufflepuff vs Slytherin vs Ravenclaw” debate and interpreting (and perhaps slightly judging) people depending on what house people claim. Let it be known that I am a Gryffindor, and proud of it. Pottermore, when it was created, added even more to this and added a new level with Patronuses. A lot can be learned about a person simply based on their Harry Potter house and Patronus I have learned, and they are often scarily accurate in most cases.

It’s safe to say Harry Potter has been a huge part of my life. I don’t know how many times I have read the books or see all of the movies, but I know I will continue the tradition with my own children some day. In Michigan, some students went so far as to create an entire musical about Harry Potter (definitely worth the watch: A Very Potter Musical). After our recent trip to Europe, I thought it would be fitting to make a Harry Potter Bucket list as we crossed off quite a few things in London and Edinburgh. So, here are the Harry Potter places I have been and things I have done. Obviously, I recommend all of them:

  1. Eat at Elephant House. Where it all began. One can’t help but be inspired by this place.
  2. See Victoria Street in Edinburgh. Inspiration for Diagon Alley.20170201_090221
  3. See Leadenhall market.
  4. Go to Platform 9 3/4 at Kings Cross
  5. Visit Harry Potter theater in London.wp-1486234459797.jpg
  6. Visit Piccadilly Circus in London.                  20170126_174758
  7. Visit the Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Studios in Florida

     

  8. Have a butterbeer in Diagon Alley2015-05-20-12.31.46.jpg.jpg
  9. Visit Greyfriars Kirkyard in Edinburgh. The grave yard where J.K. Rowling took breaks and that inspired the names of various characters for the series.
  10. Dress up as a character.                                          20150518_191139.jpg
  11. Read all the books, multiple times.
  12. Watch all the movies in one sitting.
  13. Perfect your own butterbeer recipe. There are many online, and I love tweeking and combining different ones.
  14. Read Harry Potter in a different country, in a different language. I did this while in India. We were staying at a bed and breakfast that people had left novels in various languages at. We found one and a person in our group read it to us (in accents and all) while we were drinking tea. One of my favorite memories.
  15. Join Pottermore. Get sorted. Get a patronus. You won’t regret it.

There are obviously more places to go and things to do, and eventually I will have them checked off the list. For now, this is a pretty good start.

Fellow Potter fan,

Jess

 

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter Bucket List

  1. Literally life goals. So far I have only been to Platform 9 3/4. Pretty much a dream come true. It’s save to say I’m jealous of you haha

    Like

  2. Oh, and I’ve joined Pottermore and read the books more times than is probably healthy. I also watched all the movies in one sitting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

