European Adventure: It Was the Best of Times (Post 8)

“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.” ~Charles Dickens

This famous quote sums up perfectly how I feel right now. This trip was incredible so it is the best of times, but also the worst because I don’t want it to end. I also chose this quote because it turns out that Charles Dickens based his novel A Tale of Two Cities on the book The French Revolution: A History by Thomas Carlyle. Thomas Carlyle lived in a house about 4 down from where we are in Chelsea, a fact that fascinated me when we looked him up. I love writing and reading, and A Tale of Two Cities was a favorite of mine. Perhaps being so close to a where a famous writer inspired me while writing this blog.

Well, here we are. It is our last day in Europe. I will be extremely sad to leave as this has been the trip of a lifetime. I know I originally said we would be going to Paris, but as it turned out it was going to be too complicated to get there with too little time once there. Going to Paris, I would want to give it the time it deserves. While I was disappointed at first, this was the best choice for everyone. My consolation came as a surprise with one more day in Scotland, which I will go into on another post.

We ended today by going back to Harrods and CafΓ© Concerto. I told you previously that the hot chocolate was by far the best we had ever had. So, we decided we needed to all get one on our last day. It did not disappoint.

Well, I finally got my Indian food fix. I had heard that it is delicious here and so was excited to have a taste. Having been to India, I was curious to see what it would be like here. Since Britain ruled India, there is an influence of both cultures within the opposite country. This restaurant was called Masala Zone, and it was an fun atmosphere. They have puppets hanging on the ceiling so we spent some time looking at the different ones hanging around our table. The food was great, and we got a good taste of a few different traditional dishes.

We ate our last meal with my aunt Lisa and uncle Jeff. This trip would not have been possible without them. Although no words can ever adequately express it, I am extremely thankful for their generosity. Not only did Lisa play tour guide, but she and Jeff also welcomed us into their home. They prepared meals for us and made sure we had a fantastic trip by going out of their way to help us in any way they could. I also loved having the opportunity to come here and spend time with them. I love them both dearly and am so incredibly grateful to have them. 

There are a few more posts that I will do summarizing my favorite parts of this trip. I don’t know how I’ll narrow it down because everything has been amazing, but I will do my best.

For now, farewell Europe: you have treated us well. Thank you for such great memories that will truly last a lifetime. Stay tuned for more posts and pictures πŸ™‚

Cheerio!

Jess

Leave a Reply

